ASWJ-backed candidate wins PP-78, beating PML-N
JHANG: Independent candidate Maulana Masroor Nawaz Jhangvi won the by-election of Jhang, beating the candidate of ruling PML-N, Azad Nasir Ansari on Thursday.

Jhangvi, who was backed by Ahle Sunnat Wal Jamaat (ASWJ).

According to unofficial results, Maulana Masroor Nawaz Jhangvi bagged 48,562 votes against his rival’s 35,468 votes.

The Punjab Assembly’s constituency had fallen vacant after the Supreme Court disqualified Rashida Yaqoob of the Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N) for concealing assets.

She was elected to the assembly in the 2013 general elections and runner-up candidate Mr Ludhianvi had challenged her election.

She was also in the run today as an independent candidate.

Load More By Umair akbar
Load More In News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

City Cricket Club won the Title of District Cricket Championship 2016-17 R.Y.Khan

Rahim Yar Khan (News Desk): Bowlers set up to City Cricket Club comprehensive 18 runs won …