You easily get out of your Uber taxi car and end your trip but there is a problem you have never noticed. And the problem is that Uber can track you for a full five minutes after dropping you at the destination.

Even if you preferred to get out early and walk the last part of your journey, the app could theoretically still figure out where you lived due to the location tracking.

Maybe being tracked even when you’re not using the app doesn’t bother you – but if it does, there’s a simple way to fix it.

You can go into settings and do it manually:

On iPhone: Open Settings > Privacy > Location Services > Uber >  ‘Never.’

On Android phones running Marshmallow, do this: Open Settings > Apps > Uber > ‘Permission’ > ‘Location’ (disable it)

Or, when you download or update the app, a pop-up message will ask you if you are happy to ‘Allow ‘Uber’ to access your location even when you are not using the app’

You can say no (the option will read ‘never’ or ‘don’t allow’).

Don’t worry – disabling your location doesn’t stop the app from working.

You will, however, need to manually enter your pick-up and drop-off addresses each time you use it.

Uber says that the tracking helps them to give a better service, for example by preventing problems where customers can’t find the drivers.

‘We’re always thinking about ways we can improve the rider experience from sharpening our ETA estimates to identifying the best pick up location on any given street.

‘Location is at the heart of the Uber experience, and we’re asking riders to provide us with more information to achieve these goals.’

But if you prefer privacy the app will work perfectly well without it.

Load More By Umair akbar
Load More In General Knowledge

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

City Cricket Club won the Title of District Cricket Championship 2016-17 R.Y.Khan

Rahim Yar Khan (News Desk): Bowlers set up to City Cricket Club comprehensive 18 runs won …